Independent Voter Project

California Nonpartisan Primary Summit: August 19th

Please join the Independent Voter Project and California Forward for a panel discussion on California’s nonpartisan Top­-Two primary and the future of voting rights.

The event will include a lunch presentation and three panel discussions comprised of representatives from the California state legislature, voting rights experts, as well as academic and professional elections experts.

We will also welcome Secretary of State Alex Padilla and Senator Steve Glazer as our special guest speakers.

Event Resources:


Panel Overviews

Voting Rights are Under Attack But Not How You Think

Introduction to Petition for Writ of Certiorari



August 19, 2015 at 9:30am - 4:30pm


The Citizen Hotel
926 J St
7t​h​ Floor
Sacramento, CA 95814
United States

Google map and directions


Cadee Condit Gray

(209) 756­1202


9:30 AM to 10:00 AM: Registration and Check In

10:00 AM to 10:30 AM: Welcome Comments and Guest Speaker

Welcome: IVP and CAFwd
Special Guest: Secretary of State Alex Padilla

10:30 AM to 12:00 PM: Panel Discussion

"What is Top-Two Really About"

Confirmed Panelists:
Assemblymember Brian Maienschein
Kimberly Nalder, Professor at Sacramento State
Chad Peace, Attorney for Independent Voter Project
Andrew Sinclair, Clinical Assistant Professor of Public Policy at NYU

12:00 PM to 1:00 PM: Guest Speaker and Lunch

Special Guest: Senator Steve Glazer
Lunch Served

1:00 PM to 2:30 PM: Panel Discussion

"The Future of Nonpartisan Reform"

Confirmed Panelists:
Assemblymember Lorena Gonzalez
Assemblymember Kristin Olsen, Minority Leader
Allan Hoffenblum, Publisher of the California Target Book
Dan Howle, Co-Chair of the Independent Voter Project
Stephen Walker, Director of Government Affairs at CCPOA

3:00 PM to 4:30 PM: Panel Discussion

“Top-Two Effect on California Elections”

Confirmed Panelists:
Senator Anthony Cannella
Assemblymember Cheryl Brown
Assemblymember Adam Gray
Rob Lapsley, California Business Roundtable
Martin Wilson, Executive Vice President, California Chamber of Commerce
Pam Woudstra, Keep California Golden

Joaquin Pons Ashley Underlee Miguel Bastidas Bryan McPartlan Raul Macias Rebecca Turner Alexia Cortez Megan Range Ambrosia Daphne Solis Andrew Blankenship Gustavo Arroyo Alisa Reinhardt Lauren Lombardo Jensen Jennings Jensen Jennings Jason Olson Jeff Marston Casey Gudel David Kaufman Ken Larsen Frank Rizzo Eddie Kurtz Suzette Elwell-Scardino Janice Dalske Gina Da Silva Elisabeth Kersten Lotus Yee Fong Jeannette Zanipatin louis(ken) gonigan David Kersten Bill Wong Bob Mulholland Justin Knighten Kristie Grover Ricky-Ric Barreto Sunny Mojonnier Evan Larson Andrew Crutchfield Meredith Turner Michael Budahn Alex Hirsch Chris Bertelli John Guenther Amelia Rossini Ron Brand Caitlin Maple Carla Mays Matthew Gagnon

Will you come?

Showing 139 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.